Mike Piazza and feeling like a teenager again

Jon SooHoo/Los Angeles Dodgers

Jon SooHoo/Los Angeles Dodgers

By Cary Osborne

I was 29 days short of 12 years old when Mike Piazza made his Major League debut for the Los Angeles Dodgers on September 1, 1992.

For most of my difficult, awkward and developmental teenage years, Piazza was one of my idols.

I was there at Dodger Stadium on October 3, 1993 in celebration of my 13th birthday when he hit two home runs and knocked the San Francisco Giants out of playoff contention on the final game of the year. In 1994, I ripped the cover off Sports Illustrated’s Baseball Preview, which featured Piazza and Ken Griffey Jr., framed it and put it on my bedroom wall. It stayed there for years.

I was weeks away from graduating high school when Piazza played his final game as a Dodger. I’ll never forget how special Piazza was when he played in L.A.

One hundred and seventy-seven home runs, a .331 batting average, a .966 OPS as a Dodger.

Today he enters the Hall of Fame.

Thanks Mike.

And thank you Jon SooHoo for posting these fantastic photos today and helping me relive my teenage years.

 

4 Comments

Jon,Sitting on the 3rd base side, I still remember him hitting a one hopper in front of the shortstop, then going way over his head and to the wall in left center.However, it really bothered me when he was told of his selection in the Spring, He didn’t even mention Lasorda, without who he would not have been drafted in the 62nd round! His Godfather would have been so proud of the mention.E WeberMagalia, Ca.

From: Dodger Insider To: ebweber@sbcglobal.net Sent: Sunday, July 24, 2016 11:56 AM Subject: [New post] Mike Piazza and feeling like a teenager again #yiv8243048852 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8243048852 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8243048852 a.yiv8243048852primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8243048852 a.yiv8243048852primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8243048852 a.yiv8243048852primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8243048852 a.yiv8243048852primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8243048852 WordPress.com | caryosborne posted: “By Cary OsborneI was 29 days short of 12 years old when Mike Piazza made his Major League debut for the Los Angeles Dodgers on September 1, 1992.For most of my difficult, awkward and developmental teenage years, Piazza was one of my idols.” | |

Stinks that he couldn’t forgive the Dodger franchise and go in with the rightful LA cap. Although it appears he’s finally mending the bridge he helped blow up. Maybe he’ll appear at an Oldtimers game wearing his 31 again someday.

Mike got caught up with a elite player. O’Malley should have signed him to a long term deal instead of a 2 yr. deal. I will never forget Piazza being on the Jim Rome show and proudly saying “It’s all about the jack”. I think that says it all.

On a wall (behind a door), I hung a Mike Piazza Mets Jersey with his # 31 side showing. I see it every time I open the door. Piazza was one of my favorite Dodgers and it was my way of retiring his number.

Leave a Reply

